My Blu-Ray Steel-Book Collection

I’m new to the steel-book world. I never really saw the appeal when I was happily buying 50p Cex DVD’s, but as I moved into the Blu-Ray market, steel-books became all too exciting. My collection is still in its infancy, but I think it features some real beauties; beauties that I want to share with you all.

So, to start in chronological order, my first Blu-Ray steel-book was…

Doctor Zhivago (1965)
DSC_0482
Whereas Zavvi has this steel-book priced at an alarming £17.99, I picked this beauty up for a measly £6 from my favourite bargain basement, Cex. It would be amiss of me not to state that I have not yet got around to watching this Blu-Ray, and bought it solely on aesthetic terms. Still, who can blame me? Its a piece of art.

The Wrestler (2008)
DSC_0489
This one was much more reasonable on Zavvi. Picked up for a discounted £11, this purchase was a no-brainer. Not only is it one of my three favourite films of all time, its ultra-limited print run pulled me in. A very sleek steel-book that I will cherish for a long time.

The Avengers (2012)
DSC_0486
Unavailable at Zavvi, I picked up this steel-book for its relative cheapness. For just £8 at Cex, I purchased this steel-book for less than the regular Blu-Ray on Amazon. Not my favourite film in the superhero genre, but certainly very entertaining, Avengers will be a film I watch over and over again. The closest steel-book on Amazon is over £30 new, so keep an eye out for this one.

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2011)
DSC_0493
The second of my three StudioCanal steel-books was another Cex purchase. At £6, this steel-book was significantly cheaper than Zavvi, and is a pretty little specimen. Again, I haven’t seen this film yet, but if it anything like another John le Carré adaptation, A Most Wanted Man, then it’ll be right up my street.

Nightcrawler (2014)
DSC_0477
My most recent steel-book is by far my favourite. My third favourite film of last year, I pre-ordered this as soon as it was avaliable. I picked this up from hmv for just £14.99, as it is a hmv-exclusive, and it is worth every penny. From the intricate artwork to the embossed text on the front, this is a beautiful steel-book. The combination of aesthetic beauty and cinematic magnificent makes this my #1 steel-book.

I hope you enjoyed this short jolt through my small collection, I’m sure it will grow in the near future. Let me know your most prized steel-book in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “My Blu-Ray Steel-Book Collection

  1. Most prized steelbook has got to be either Only God Forgives or Only Lovers Left Alive. Both have beautiful artwork. Also like the Withnail & I one. I’m a bit of steelbook fan.

Share your voice

